Six Labour Party lawmakers decamp to PDP [PHOTO]

Six members of the Labour Party at the Enugu State House of Assembly have officially decamped to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The lawmakers had attempted to defect last Sunday in an elaborate party at the Okpara Square but the event came to an abrupt end.

Politics Nigeria gathered that party supporters were asked to leave Okpara Square, the proposed venue of the event.

However, on Thursday during plenary at the state House of Assembly complex, the lawmakers made their defection known in a letter read by the speaker, Hon. Uche Ugwu.

According to the speaker, the defecting members include Mr. Ejike Nwa Nsukka, (Igbo-Eze North 1); Mr. Johnson Ugwu (Enugu North); Ms. Princess Ugwu  (Enugu South Rural); Mr. Pius Onyeka Ezugwu (Nsukka West); Mr. Williams T. Amuka  (Igbo-Etiti East) and Mr. Osita Eze (Oji River).

READ ALSO  Iran on high alert after alleged strike by Israel in Syria

The speaker said that their defection was a result of the “existence of irreconcilable division, incessant crisis within the Labour Party at the national level and across all the state chapters.”

He continued: “Regrettably, the party has evolved into a state of perpetual discord with various factions embroiled in legal battles thereby undermining its ability to effectively serve the interest of the people.

“The Labour Party once a beacon of hope for progressive ideas has regrettably become synonymous with internal squabbles, thereby reducing its capacity to fulfil the aspirations of the electorate”.

They cited the cases of the Abure and Apapa factions as well as the national treasurer as some of the divisions within the party.

READ ALSO  Kevin De Bruyne's entourage hold MLS talks over surprise Man City exit

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.